Sharp Axes - Powerful Chain Saws – Professional Athletes

The 2022 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Canadian Series

 

MARCEL DUPUIS crowned Champion for second year in a row at the 2022 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Canadian Championships 

CHARLOTTETOWN, PEI (July 30, 2022) – THE STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Canadian Championship was held July 29-30, 2022 with Canada's top athlete's competing in the Rookie, Women and Pro division. 

The Canadian Championship is the most important event of the year for the Canadian Series and features the best athletes from coast to coast competing in one of three divisions – Pro Men's, Pro Women's, and Rookie Men's. This year, 24 athletes will battle for the title of Canadian Champion and for a coveted spot on the Canadian Team to represent the country at the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS ® World Championship in Gothenburg, Sweden in October.  

Marcel Dupuis found the advantage to keep the powerhouse duo of the Cumberland brothers Nathan and Ben behind him. Dupuis dug deep and pulled ahead in the second and third rounds to edge the competition and was crowned Champion for the second year in a row. This is Marcel's third Canadian Championship Title to date. 

The Canadian Championship also determines which athletes will make up Team Canada to compete in the World Championship. 

Named to Team Canada are: Marcel Dupuis, Nathan Cumberland, Ben Cumberland and Nick Russell. Russell won the stock saw discipline and was the only athlete to take a top spot from the other three in any of the disciplines. 

The weekend also saw the Women and Rookie division compete. 

Ally Briscoe, competing out of Port McNeil, BC, took the top spot in the Women's Championship. Ally set a new National Record in Single Buck with an impressive 12:01 second performance beating her own record set just two months prior. At the young age of 21, Briscoe is sure to set even more women's division records as she is improving with every competition she participates in. 

This year marked the first time that our Rookie's competed in the Single Springboard which had the Rookie's testing their own abilities in this discipline that many have just been learning. In the end up-and-comer Thian Carman of Barton, NS took top honours in the Rookie Division, defeating a competitive field of 5 talented Rookie athletes from across the country.   

WEEKEND RESULTS: 

2022 Canadian Rookie Championship  

1st  Thian Carman (BARTON, NS)  

2nd Matthew Budd (LIMESTONE, NB)  

3rd Thomas Symons ( PORT MCNEIL, BC) 

2022 Canadian Women's Championship  

1st  Allison Briscoe ( PORT MCNEIL, BC)  

2nd Danielle Tkach (SEXSMITH, AB)  

3rd Caitlin Read (TRURO, NS) 

2022 Canadian Pro Championship  

1st  Marcel Dupuis ( MEMRAMCOOK, NB) 

2nd Ben Cumberland (KESWICK, NB)  

3rd Nathan Cumberland (KESWICK, NB) 

 

A Photo Finish Determines Nathan Cumberland is the Champion for the 2022 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS ® Canadian Trophy Competition 

CHARLOTTETOWN, PEI (July 31, 2022) – THE STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Canadian Trophy took place July 30, 2022 along the serene ocean side in the beautiful island city of Charlottetown PEI. 

The top Pro Men's athletes coming out of the Canadian Championship also competed in The Canadian Trophy, the most demanding format of the series, which requires exceptional endurance and pushes the athletes to their absolute limits.  

In a crueling final battle, we had 2022 Canadian Champion, Marcel Dupuis facing off against top athlete Nathan Cumberland.  The pair were neck and neck throughout the relay. With both racing to the final discipline of Standing Block Chop at the exact same time, both athletes matching one another's powerful swings as they used every last ounce of energy and strength that they could muster. The contest ended with both athletes chopping through their blocks at nearly the exact same moment, the finish too close to call by the naked eye.  The judges went to video review where the winner was determined by a mere split second. 

Marcel Dupuis finished with an impressive time of 1:12:93 but Nathan Cumberland was crowned the 2022 Canadian Trophy Champion with his time of 1:12:63. 

Nathan will represent Canada in the 2023 World Trophy Competition. 

2022 Canadian Trophy Championship  

1st  Nathan Cumberland (KESWICK, NS) 

2nd Marcel Dupuis (MEMRAMCOOK, NS) 

3rd Ben Cumberland (KESWICK, NS) 

 

 

About the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series  The STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series consists of up to six disciplines, pending division and competition type, three using an axe – Springboard, Standing Block Chop and Underhand Chop – and three using a saw – Stock Saw, Single Buck and Hot Saw. Most of the disciplines have evolved from traditional forestry techniques and have been practiced for over 150 years. The keys to victory in STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® are a combination of an outstanding fitness level, perfect technical skills with the axe and saw, and a complete focused and mentally strong condition to withstand the enormous pressure of this competition.

 

 

 

 

STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Facebook STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Facebook

Follow the action of the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Series on Facebook!

Haches tranchantes – Scies à chaîne puissantes – Athlètes professionnels

La série canadienne STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® est de retour à Charlottetown!

Championnat canadien et Trophée canadien 2022

 

MARCEL DUPUIS couronné Champion pour une deuxième année consécutive aux Championnats Canadiens STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® 2022

 

CHARLOTTETOWN, Î.-P.-É. (30 juillet 2022) - Le Championnat Canadien STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® s'est tenu les 29 et 30 juillet 2022 mettant en compétition les meilleurs athlètes des divisions Recrues, Féminine et Pro.

 

Le Championnat Canadien est l'évènement le plus important de l'année de la Série Canadienne et réunit les meilleurs athlètes d'un océan à l'autre rivalisant dans l'une des trois divisions - Hommes Pro, Femmes Pro et Hommes Recrues. Cette année, 24 athlètes se sont affrontés pour remporter le titre de Champion Canadien et pour un poste très convoité au sein de l'Équipe Canadienne pour représenter le pays aux Championnats du Monde STIHL TIMBERSPORTS en octobre à Gothenburg en Suède.

 

Marcel Dupuis s'est assuré de garder l'avance devant le puissant duo des frères Nathan et Ben Cumberland. Dupuis a tout donné et a pris la tête dans les deuxièmes et troisièmes rondes pour devancer ses adversaires et a été couronné Champion pour une deuxième année consécutive. C'est le troisième titre de Champion Canadien pour Marcel.

 

Le Championnat Canadien détermine également quels athlètes formeront Équipe Canada qui participera aux Championnats Mondiaux.

Équipe Canada sera composée de Marcel Dupuis, Nathan Cumberland, Ben Cumberland et Nick Russell. Russell a remporté la discipline de coupe à la scie à chaîne de série et a été le seul athlète à terminer premier d'une discipline mis à part des 3 autres athlètes de l'équipe.

 

La compétition a aussi eu lieu au cours du weekend pour les Divisions Féminine et Recrues.

 

Ally Briscoe, de Port McNeil, C.-B. a pris le premier rang du Championnat Féminin. Ally a établi un nouveau record national au godendard avec un temps impressionnant de 12 : 01 secondes, battant son propre record établi deux mois plus tôt. À l'âge de 21 ans seulement, Briscoe va assurément établir d'autres records dans sa division alors qu'elle ne cesse de s'améliorer à chaque compétition à laquelle elle participe.

 

Cette année, nous avons assisté à la première compétition de coupe à la hache sur tremplin dans la Division Recrues, épreuve qui a poussé les participants à tester leurs habiletés dans cette discipline que certains commencent tout juste à maîtriser. C'est Thian Carman de Barton, N.-É., qui a remporté les honneurs de la Division Recrues en défaisant un groupe de 5 talentueux athlètes de partout au pays.

 

RÉSULTATS DU WEEKEND :

Championnat Canadien Recrues 2022

1er Thian Carman (BARTON, N.-É.)

2e  Matthew Budd (LIMESTONE, N.-B.)

3e Thomas Symons (PORT MCNEIL, C.-B.)

 

Championnat Canadien Femmes 2022

1re Allison Briscoe (PORT MCNEIL, C.-B.)

2e  Danielle Tkach (SEXSMITH, ALB)

3e  Caitlin Read (TRURO, N.-É.)

 

 

Championnat Canadien Pro 2022

1er Marcel Dupuis (MEMRAMCOOK, N.-B.)

2e  Ben Cumberland (KESWICK, N.-B.)

3e  Nathan Cumberland (KESWICK, N.-B.)

 

La reprise vidéo détermine que Nathan Cumberland est le Champion de la compétition du Trophée Canadien STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® 2022

 

CHARLOTTETOWN, Î.-P.-É. (31 juillet 2022) - La compétition pour le Trophée Canadien STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® a eu lieu le 30 juillet 2022 aux abords de l'océan dans la magnifique ville de Charlottetown Î.-P.-É.

 

Les meilleurs athlètes de la Division Pro Hommes présents pour le Championnat Canadien ont également rivalisé pour Le Trophée Canadien, l'épreuve la plus demandante de la série. Cette compétition requiert une endurance exceptionnelle et pousse les athlètes à leur limite absolue.

 

Dans une bataille finale cruelle, nous avions le Champion Canadien 2022 Marcel Dupuis qui affrontait un des meilleurs athlètes Nathan Cumberland. La paire a été nez à nez tout au long du relais. Au début de la discipline finale, celle de la coupe à la hache à la verticale, les deux athlètes affichaient exactement le même temps. Les deux athlètes ont tous les deux produit des coups puissants et ont utilisé toute l'énergie qu'il leur restait. La compétition s'est terminée alors que les deux athlètes ont coupé leur bloc presque au même moment. Il a été impossible de déterminer le gagnant à l'œil nu. Les juges ont consulté la reprise vidéo et le gagnant a été déterminé par une mince fraction de seconde.

 

Marcel Dupuis a terminé avec un temps impressionnant de 1:12:93, mais Nathan Cumberland a été couronné Champion du Trophée Canadien 2022 avec son temps de 1:12:63.

 

Nathan représentera le Canada à la Compétition du Trophée Mondial en 2023. 

 

Championnat Trophée Canadien 2022

 

1er Nathan Cumberland (KESWICK, N.-B.)

2e  Marcel Dupuis (MEMRAMCOOK, N.-B.)

3e  Ben Cumberland (KESWICK, N.-B.)

 

 

À propos de la STIHL TIMBERSPORTS®  Selon la division et le type de compétition, la série STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® peut comprendre jusqu'à six disciplines. Trois avec une hache – Coupe à la hache sur tremplin, Coupe à la hache verticale et Coupe à la hache horizontale – et trois avec une scie – Scie à chaîne STIHL, Scie godendard et Scie à chaîne classe ouverte. La plupart des disciplines proviennent de techniques forestières traditionnelles et se pratiquent depuis plus de 150 ans. Le secret de la victoire de la série STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® est la combinaison d'un niveau de forme physique très élevé, d'habiletés techniques parfaites avec une hache et une scie et de concentration et de force mentale inébranlables pour résister à l'énorme pression de cette compétition.

.

STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Facebook STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Facebook

Suivez l'action de la série STIHL TIMBERSPORTS sur Facebook

STIHL OUTFITTERS STIHL OUTFITTERSMC CANADA

Procurez-vous la marchandise STIHL sous licence officielle dès aujourd'hui!