STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Canadian Championship 2015

The most exciting Canadian Championship ever!

2015 Canadian Championship

The city of Niagara Falls, ON set the stage for the 2015 edition of the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS Canadian Championship at the Scotiabank Convention Centre on July 18-19, 2015. The weekend started on Saturday with 9 athletes from Eastern Canada competing for 4 spots in the Canadian Championship to compete against the top 4 athletes from the west who qualified in June at the Craft Beer Week in Vancouver, BC. Rookie 2015 World Champion Nathan Cumberland from Keswick Ridge, NB moved up to the professional ranks and surprised all of the attendants by winning the whole event in his very first appearance. Nathan qualified to compete in the Canadian Championship along with fellow easterners Marcel Dupuis (Memramcook, NB), Cecil Starr (Sebright, ON) and JP Mercier (St-Étienne-de-Lauzon, QC). This select group of athletes faced the gang from the west on Sunday led by defending Canadian Champion Stirling Hart (Vancouver, BC), 4-time Canadian Champion Mitch Hewitt (Scotch Creek, BC), Karl "The Godfather" Bischoff (Magna Bay, BC) and Nick Russell (Port McNeil, BC) – with a complete roster in the professional division, the stage was set and game was on.

The Canadian Championship was the most exciting Canadian event ever! With the addition of young gun Nathan Cumberland to the roster and his impressive power at only 19 years of age, the already experienced professional athletes had to kick their "A" game up a notch. Never in the history of Canadian STIHL TIMBERSPORTS had our official judges had to go so many times to the video screens to determine a winner. But in this edition, Assistant Judge Jonathan Russell and Head Judge Roger McPhee had their hands full for the whole day. Not only competition was as close as ever, but for the first time ever, the first place in Springboard Chop was taken away from Springboard World Champion Mitch Hewitt by defending Champion Stirling Hart. As expressed by Stirling Hart after his amazing Springboard Chop heat, he said: "I've been waiting for over 8 years to beat Mitch at this discipline". After 5 of 6 events, Mitch Hewitt was leading the scoreboard with 30 points, closely followed by Stirling Hart and Nathan Cumberland, both with 28 points and Marcel Dupuis with 27; it was all going to be decided in the Hot Saw round. Mitch Hewitt needed a good time to secure his victory but he had trouble starting his Hot Saw. He recorded a time of 16.8 seconds, far too long for this event. This opened the door for the chase to take his spot, but with Stirling Hart and Nathan Cumberland getting a DQ in this round, the chance was now for Marcel Dupuis. With an inspired performance, Marcel ran a solid time of 6.5 seconds winning this event and scoring 8 more points that would put him at a total of 35 points, one point above Mitch Hewitt who only scored 4 points in this round and finished in second place with a total score of 34 points. The Canadian Championship, 2015 edition, was a nail-biting event not recommended for people with heart conditions from the beginning to end!

The Canadian Championship was also graced by the presence of the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS best Women and Rookie athletes in the country. The Women's Division was represented by defending Canadian Champion Danielle Tkach (Sexsmith, AB) and Katelan Steward (Grande Prairie, AB) from the west and Janet Walker (Truro, NS) and France Gagné (Shipshaw, QC), representing the east. In the Rookie Division we had Lukas Brown-John (Squamish, BC) and Brad Barlow (Edmonton, AB) representing the west and Ben Cumberland (Keswick Ridge, NB) and George Williams (River Denys, NS) from the east. The level of competition displayed by both women and rookie division was phenomenal! They kept crowds on the edge of their seats until the final event, where Janet Walker took the Canadian Women's Championship for the first time, followed by a new face in the Canadian Championship, Katelan Steward and finishing the podium with Danielle Tkach whose hopes of defending her title faded away as competition advanced. On the Rookie Division, Ben Cumberland and George Williams from the East completely dominated the competition and took first and second place with Brad Barlow finishing third.

The Canadian 2015 season is now complete and we focus our efforts to the 2015 World Championship that will take place in Poznan, Poland on November 13-14. Team Canada Coach Gerry Rozo has selected a team, which is in his own words, "the best team we've ever had for a World Championship".

Team Canada will be represented by:
1. Marcel Dupuis
2. Mitch Hewitt
3. Stirling Hart
4. Nathan Cumberland
5. JP Mercier
6. Ben Cumberland

Congratulations to all the athletes who put a solid performance in 2015 and good luck to Team Canada who will start training immediately to go for the gold medal that they missed by a half-swing of an axe to Australia in the finals in Austria last year.

Thanks for supporting the ULTIMATE extreme sport on the planet!


STIHL App

Download the STIHL App

For Apple and Android devices

YouTube

STIHL Canada on YouTube

Facebook

Find us on Facebook

Championnat Canadien STIHL TIMBERSPORTS 2015

Le Championnat canadien le plus palpitant jamais vu!

Championnat canadien 2015

 

C'est dans la ville de Niagara Falls, ON que s'est déroulé l'édition 2015 du Championnat canadien STIHL TIMBERSPORTS au Centre des congrès Banque Scotia les 18 et 19 juillet 2015. Le weekend a commencé samedi alors que neuf athlètes de l'est du Canada se sont disputé quatre places au Championnat canadien afin d'affronter les quatre meilleurs athlètes de l'Ouest qui s'étaient qualifiés en juin lors de la semaine de la bière artisanale à Vancouver, BC. Le champion du monde 2015 dans la division Recrues, Nathan Cumberland de Keswick Ridge, NB, s'est élevé au niveau professionnel et a surpris l'ensemble des spectateurs en remportant toutes les épreuves, et ce, lors de sa toute première participation. Nathan s'est qualifié pour le Championnat canadien avec ses collègues de l'Est Marcel Dupuis (Memramcook, NB), Cecil Starr (Sebright, ON) et JP Mercier (St-Étienne-de-Lauzon, QC). Le dimanche, cette poignée d'athlètes privilégiés s'est mesurée au groupe de l'Ouest mené par le champion canadien en titre Stirling Hart (Vancouver, BC), le quadruple champion canadien Mitch Hewitt (Scotch Creek, BC), Karl « Le parrain » Bischoff (Magna Bay, BC) et Nick Russell (Port McNeil, BC). Avec un tableau affichant complet dans la division pro et une scène bien organisée, les jeux étaient lancés.

La Championnat canadien a été l'événement le plus captivant jamais vu! Avec le nom de la jeune vedette Nathan Cumberland au tableau et sa force impressionnante à seulement 19 ans, les athlètes professionnels expérimentés ont dû élever leur jeu d'un cran. Jamais dans l'histoire de la série canadienne STIHL TIMBERSPORTS les juges n'ont eu à revisionner autant de fois les vidéos pour déterminer un gagnant. En effet, lors de cette édition, le juge auxiliaire Jonathan Russell et le juge en chef Roger McPhee ont eu du pain sur la planche toute la journée. Non seulement la compétition a-t-elle été la plus serrée jusqu'à présent, mais pour la toute première fois, le champion du monde dans l'épreuve du Springboard Mitch Hewitt s'est fait détrôner par le champion en titre Stirling Hart. Comme l'a exprimé Stirling Hart après son incroyable performance au Springboard : « J'ai attend plus de huit ans pour battre Mitch dans cette discipline. » Après cinq ou six épreuves, Mitch Hewitt était en tête du tableau avec 30 points, suivi de près par Stirling Hart et Nathan Cumberland, tous deux avec 28 points puis Marcel Dupuis avec 27; tout allait se décider à l'épreuve de la scie à chaîne Hot Saw. Mitch Hewitt avait besoin d'un bon temps pour s'assurer de la victoire, mais a éprouvé de la difficulté à démarrer sa scie. Il a inscrit un temps de 16,8 secondes, ce qui est beaucoup trop long pour cette épreuve. Les autres candidats avaient maintenant une occasion de prendre sa place, mais après les disqualifications de Stirling Hart et Nathan Cumberland, tout reposait entre les mains de Marcel Dupuis. Avec une superbe performance et un temps de 6,5 secondes, Marcel a remporté l'épreuve et grimpé de huit points sur le tableau pour un total de 35 points, un point au-dessus de Mitch Hewitt qui a marqué quatre points dans cette épreuve et fini deuxième avec un total de 34 points. L'édition 2015 du Championnat canadien a été ahurissante du début à la fin et déconseillée aux personnes atteintes de problèmes cardiaques.

La présence des meilleurs athlètes STIHL TIMBERSPORTS au pays dans les divisons Féminine et Recrues a également grandement contribué au succès du Championnat canadien. La division Féminine était représentée par la championne canadienne en titre Danielle Tkach (Sexsmith, AB) et Katelan Steward (Grande Prairie, AB) représentant l'Ouest ainsi que Janet Walker (Truro, NS) et France Gagné (Shipshaw, QC) de l'Est. Dans la division des Recrues, nous avions Lukas Brown-John (Squamish, BC) et Brad Barlow (Edmonton, AB) représentant l'Ouest et Ben Cumberland (Keswick Ridge, NB) et George Williams (River Denys, NS) de l'Est. Le niveau de compétition offert par ces deux divisions était phénoménal! Ils ont gardé la foule en haleine jusqu'à la fin alors que Janet Walker a remporté le Championnat canadien Féminin pour la première fois, suivie par un nouveau visage, Katelan Steward puis enfin sur le podium, Danielle Tkach, dont les chances de défendre son titre diminuaient à mesure que la compétition avançait. Dans la division Recrues, Ben Cumberland et George Williams de l'Est ont complètement dominé la compétition et obtenu la première et la deuxième place, suivies par Brad Barlow au troisième rang.

La saison canadienne 2015 est terminée et nous concentrons maintenant tous nos efforts pour le Championnat du monde 2015 à Poznan, en Pologne les 13 et 14 novembre. Le coach d'Équipe Canada, Gerry Rozo, a sélectionné une équipe qui selon lui est « la meilleure équipe jamais constituée pour un championnat mondial. »

Les membres d'Équipe Canada sont :
1. Marcel Dupuis
2. Mitch Hewitt
3. Stirling Hart
4. Nathan Cumberland
5. JP Mercier
6. Ben Cumberland

Félicitations à tous les athlètes qui nous ont offert de solides performances en 2015 et nous souhaitons la meilleure des chances à Équipe Canada qui entamera son entraînement immédiatement en vue de mériter la médaille d'or qu'ils se sont fait ravir de justesse par l'Australie l'an dernier.

Merci de soutenir l'ULTIME sport extrême de la planète!

 

STIHL App

Téléchargez l'application STIHL

Pour tous les appareils Apple et Android.

YouTube

STIHL Canada sur YouTube

Facebook

Trouvez-nous sur Facebook